The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

The Famous Amongst Us....

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

TomHill

Rank

Here From the Very Start

Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:01 pm

The Famous Amongst Us....

by TomHill » Thu Apr 11, 2024 2:17 pm

KenZinns got a nice mention in the latest BrocCllrs e-mail offer:

There's winemaking. Then there's all the essential work that makes wine possible.

We're fortunate to have wonderful and hard-working people walk through the cellar door and make Broc wine possible. Oftentimes that critical work is much less glamorous. Late harvest nights. Long bottling days. It takes a community to make wine. (Any winemaker who tells you differently is lying.)

Ken Zinns is one of those folks. Technically an architect by trade, he's spent decades moonlighting in the wine industry. A powerhouse and not-so-secret weapon in the Bay Area wine scene, and has helped countless wineries with bottling and other harvest crush projects. It's not superlative to say he's a legend, just read this robust profile on his impact. Ken's worked with Broc since 2008 on a number of projects, but most significantly bottling.

Next time you pop a bottle of Broc wine, thank Ken and the team who bottled it. If you want to learn more about Ken, check out our full conversation.

How did you get started in wine?

It was a lot of things. One was meeting with winemaker Tom Leaf of Grapeleaf Cellars in Berkeley in mid-2001 (later Broc’s first official home). I gave him a bunch of wine shipper boxes I'd accumulated and that I learned he could use - and he invited me to help out at his winery if I was interested. That got the snowball rolling...

Many wineries have been in that space dating back to the 1970s, including Edmunds St. John - and my first bottling was there (manual bottling). Other than helping to pour wine at tastings and other events, all of my wine work has been in production.