Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Red jalapenos

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

MikeH

Rank

Wine guru

Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:07 pm

Cincinnati

Red jalapenos

by MikeH » Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:09 pm

A co-worker gave me some red peppers. He said they were home-grown by a neighbor and he couldnt use them all. He thought they were jalapenos.

To me the size and shape were jalapeno-like. But I'm a relative newbie in the foodie world and the red color confused me. My research in Wikipedia indicates these could in fact be fully ripe jalapenos. Further, Wikipedia states that red jalapenos are considered inferior to green and that they are often smoked to make chipotles.

Given the notorious inaccuracies of Wikipedia, does all of this sound correct to the resident experts here?

Any suggestions as to the use of these red peppers?

Thanks.
Cheers!
Mike
no avatar
User

Robert J.

Rank

Wine guru

Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:36 pm

Coming to a store near you.

Re: Red jalapenos

by Robert J. » Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:35 pm

Sounds right to me. Red japs tend to lose heat through the ripening process (could be wrong on this, but they do lose heat). They also lose that bright *green* flavor.

I use them any way I normally would use japs. If I need more heat I mix in some green or habs.

Dastardly Dick

Arrrrr matey
Last edited by Robert J. on Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
no avatar
User

Gary Barlettano

Rank

Pappone di Vino

Wed Mar 29, 2006 5:50 pm

In a gallon jug far, far away ...

by Gary Barlettano » Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:36 pm

Not that you'd want to take chile advice from someone from New Jersey, but the article tracks with what I know about jalapeños. It should be pretty easy to identify yours by comparing with pictures on the web such as this one:
<center>Image</center>