Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Penzey's Tellicherry Pepper "Extra Bold"

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:45 pm

The Pacific Northest Westest

Penzey's Tellicherry Pepper "Extra Bold"

by Jenise » Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:27 pm

Years ago I wasn't all that much a fan of black pepper and I thought the routine chef instruction to salt & pepper every thing was overkill. It was on par with my sister's habit of putting ketchup on everything. I mean--yeah, black pepper was great on a baked potato and an ear of corn, but every salad, every raw chicken breast, every steak? No. Not by a loooooong shot.

Problem is, I started out with canned ground pepper, so no wonder I wasn't impressed. There was/is nothing interesting about canned pepper--it's lost most of its flavor before it leaves the factory. Eventually I graduated to pepper mills (still using the canned stuff in cooking) and liked those multi-colored "gourmet" blends because they were pretty, but once I tried a pure malabar black, I knew I was in finer territory and that became my new standard. And since the pepper actually had real flavor character, my use of pepper increased. But even then, I probably only refilled my pepper mill about once every three months.

Then I discovered tellicherry pepper, a pepper than instantly surpassed all others, and before long I discovered the sublime superfreshness of Penzey's tellicherry pepper, and a revolution began in my kitchen. Suddenly I loved pepper. One mill wasn't enough, I had to buy a second. Nowadays both require refilling weekly: I use about a pound and a half a year. Mind you, I still don't pepper every raw chicken breast nor agree that every salad is better with a layer of pepper on top, but I do season many, many things with pepper and some I load with so much pepper they're quite picante.