Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

The Sushi Table

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Robert J.

Rank

Wine guru

Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:36 pm

Coming to a store near you.

The Sushi Table

by Robert J. » Mon May 26, 2008 12:01 pm

I'm new at working with sushi. I absolutely love the stuff and have decided that I want to get better at cutting the fish and rolling the various styles in that supremely artful manner.

I had a sushi dinner last night. The table was great fun to put together. The sushi itself was great fun to roll. While it doesn't look all neat and clean like well made sushi should, it still tasted great.

The menu:
Tekka Maki (small roll) with Spicy Tuna

California Style Roll with Sable, Carrots, and Cucumbers

Nigiri with Escolar

Escolar Hand Rolls (sorry, no pictures of these)

Sparrow Tongue Yellow Tea (for me)

Damien Laureau "Le Bel Ouvrage" Savennieres 2004

Sushi Platters:

Plates and Chopsticks:

The Table:

Rolls and Nigiri:

rwj
no avatar
User

Robin Garr

Rank

Forum Janitor

Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:44 pm

Louisville, KY

Re: The Sushi Table

by Robin Garr » Mon May 26, 2008 12:30 pm

Looks real to me. Hai!
no avatar
User

Robert J.

Rank

Wine guru

by Robert J. » Mon May 26, 2008 1:51 pm

Real, yes. Clean and artful, no.

The tekka maki is an authentic Japanese roll; one of the original sushi rolls. It is actually very difficult to roll (small rolls are generally harder to make than large rolls such as the suko maki) and if you look at it (the one with the rice on the inside) you will see that I used a little too much of the sauce for the tuna. The sauce stained the rice and in the world of sushi this is unacceptable as it makes the roll look "dirty". You can also see that the roll didn't quite come together and that the cuts aren't very clean.