Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Advice on using Thai Basil

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Christina Georgina

Rank

Wisconsin Wondercook

Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:37 pm

Advice on using Thai Basil

by Christina Georgina » Tue Oct 03, 2023 5:53 pm

I am not familiar in the use of fresh Thai basil. My husband put a plant in while I was away and it is now a shrub!! The smell is intense but I have used it now primarily in fresh salads and have found it not at all flavorful. Is this an herb, like some varieties of oregano that are meh fresh or is it a function of what vehicle the oils are dispersed in that renders the aroma into taste ?
Appreciate any insight here. Would like to put some of that shrub to good use.
Mamma Mia !
no avatar
User

Jeff Grossman

Rank

That 'pumpkin' guy

Sat Mar 25, 2006 7:56 am

NYC

Re: Advice on using Thai Basil

by Jeff Grossman » Tue Oct 03, 2023 6:23 pm

I'm no expert on these things, other than having eaten them from time to time.

Compared to sweet basil, the thai basil has a bit more anise flavor and the leaves are more durable. So, you can sorta treat them like bay leaves or as last-minute toss ins for an extra green blast.

Then there's holy basil, which is Indian. It's similar to thai basil in flavor but a lot more perfumey. Lovely stuff, if you can find it.
no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:45 pm

The Pacific Northest Westest

by Jenise » Wed Oct 04, 2023 11:09 am

Christina, I adore Thai basil. A favorite dish is a stir fry wherein handfuls of it are added to chicken and onions. I have never been blessed with a shrub of it so I've never had to look for other uses--when I have it, other than tomato salad, I make this chicken dish.
My wine shopping and I have never had a problem. Just a perpetual race between the bankruptcy court and Hell.--Rogov
no avatar
User

Karen/NoCA

Rank

Hunter/Gatherer